Calendar of the academic year

The academic year starts in October and finishes in June. It is divided into two semesters: winter and summer semester. After each semester there is an exam session. The break between semesters lasts from mid January to mid February. Christmas holidays last from the 22nd of December to the 2nd of January and Easter holidays take place over Easter.
Public holidays
•    the 1st of January - New Year’s Day
•    the 6th of January – Epiphany (“Three Kings”)
•    Easter Sunday, Easter Monday
•    the 1st of May – International Worker’s Day
•    the 3rd of May - Constitution Day
•    the Feast of Corpus Christi - variable
•    the 15th of August - Assumption of the Blessed Virgin Mary
•    the 1st of November - All Saints’ Day
•    the 11th of November – Independence Day
•    the 25th and 26th December – Christmas Day, Boxing Day